Your Responsibilities as a Mandated Reporter
As an employee of the Northern Bedford County School District and/or as an individual who provides a program, activity or service sponsored by the school district, you are a mandated reporter.
In August 2013, the school district started providing 3-hour training sessions for employees as required by the Pennsylvania Department of Education’s Act 126 – Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Act. Additional trainings were held in June 2014 and August 2014.
During the 2014 year, new legislation was signed by then Pennsylvania Governor Tom Corbett that included key amendments to the definitions and processes in the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) with significant aspects of the law taking effect December 31, 2014.
The purpose of this email is to update you on the changes to the CPSL and to explain how the changes impact you in the mandated reporting process.
One of the most significant changes is that the employee who has a reasonable suspicion that child abuse has occurred is now the person required to immediately make the report to ChildLine. This report should be made electronically at www.compass.state.pa.us/cwis. The new electronic reporting process will require you to create an account before making your first report (see instructions here). Once that is completed you will then be able to save and document all referrals you make. For each report you make, an electronic notification will be sent to the district.
A report can also be made by calling the ChildLine toll-free number at 1-800-932-0313. If making a report by telephone, the CY-47 form must be used to document the information and then you will need to mail it to the local Children and Youth Agency. You also need to retain a copy of the written report for your records. The CY-47 form is attached and is available at each school office or from the school counselors.
Please note that after making the initial report, you are required to notify a school principal. If the report is made electronically, you will need to provide a copy of the electronic report confirmation to them. The school principal shall then immediately notify the Superintendent or designee that a child abuse report has been made and if the initial report was made electronically, also provide a copy of the report confirmation. Likewise if it is a telephone referral, a copy of your CY-47 should also be given to the principal.
Remember the building principals and the school counselors are available to help guide you through this process.